www.uzspb.uz  
UZBEKISTAN SOCIETY FOR
THE PROTECTION OF BIRDS
 
Russian

FOR THE BRIGHTER FUTURE OF THE LESSER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE

The Lesser White-fronted Goose was crowned bird of the year 2018 in Uzbekistan! The status of this smallest of all geese in Uzbekistan over the past 35 years has changed from an ordinary hunting species to a globally threatened one. The main threat to him is hunting, as the Lesser White-fronted Goose is virtually indistinguishable from the White-fronted Goose, which is an ordinary hunting species. The constantly decreasing numbers of the Lesser White-fronts require immediate conservation actions!

Uzbekistan Society for Bird Protection (UzSPB) is proud of the fact that Lesser White-fronted Goose, as one of the rarest bird species in the world is found on the territory of our country! Understanding the big responsibility for the future of this globally threatened species, the UzSPB sets a goal to contribute to its conservation. The Bird of the Year 2018 campaign in Uzbekistan this time is supported by the Lesser White-fronted Goose International Working Group, operating under the Agreement on the Protection of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterfowl (AEWA).

Since the similarity of the Lesser White-fronted Goose to the White-fronted Goose makes this bird particularly vulnerable during the hunting season, the Bird of the Year campaign aims to draw the attention of rangers and hunters to differences between the two species. In order to tell the hunters about the differences between these two species, the UzSPB issued a short field guide and a poster showing the Lesser White-fronted Goose and the White-fronted Goose in flight and on the ground. These materials in Russian and Uzbek are distributed free of charge to hunters and all interested parties. One can get leaflets and posters with distinctive features of two geese at the office of the Uzbekistan Society for the Protection of Birds.

As part of the campaign, the UzSPB also plans to hold meetings with hunters at the KBA 'Talimarzhan reservoir' in Kashkadarya region of Uzbekistan. In January 2018, UzSPB staff and experts recorded 20 Lesser White-fronts on this territory. There is a high probability that the Lesser White-fronted Goose will stop at Talimarzhan during the autumn migration. In September and October this year, they will need help of UzSPB volunteers and supporters who will explain to hunters how to distinguish a Lesser White-fronted from a White-fronted goose.

Supported by: BirdLife International RSPB Darwin Initiative

© Compiled by Oleg Kashkarov
  Webmaster Ernest Khurshut: uznix@narod.ru | Fishes of Uzbekistan
Last modified: 11.03.2018

www.uzspb.uz  
ОБЩЕСТВО ОХРАНЫ
ПТИЦ УЗБЕКИСТАНА
 
English

ПИСКУЛЬКА - ПТИЦА ГОДА 2018 В УЗБЕКИСТАНЕ

Центральной фигурой кампании "Птица года 2018" в Узбекистане выбран гусь пискулька. Этот самый мелкий из всех встречающихся в нашей стране гусей за последние 35 лет превратился из обычного охотничьего вида в глобально угрожаемый. Основную угрозу для него представляет охота поскольку пискулька по внешним признакам практически неотличим от белолобого гуся, который является обычным охотничьим видом. Постоянно снижающаяся численность пискульки требует незамедлительных природоохранных действий!

Общество охраны птиц гордится тем, что пискулька, как один из самых редких видов птиц в мире, встречается на территории нашей страны! Осознавая всю ответственность за будущее этого глобально угрожаемого вида, Общество ставит перед собой цель способствовать его сохранению. Кампанию "Птица года 2018" в Узбекистане на этот раз поддерживает Международная рабочая группа по пискульке, действующая в рамках Соглашения о защите Африканских-евразийских мигрирующих водоплавающих птиц AEWA.

Поскольку схожесть пискульки с белолобым гусем делает эту птицу особенно уязвимой во время охотничьего сезона, кампания "Птица года" направлена на привлечение внимания инспекторов по охране природы и охотников к характерным отличительным внешним признакам пискульки. Для того чтобы рассказать охотникам об отличиях, существующих между пискулькой и белолобым гусем, Обществом издан краткий полевой определитель пискульки и плакат, на котором изображены пискулька и белолобый гусь в полете и на земле. Эти материалы на русском и узбекском языках распространяются бесплатно среди охотников и всех заинтересованных лиц. Получить буклеты и плакаты с отличительными признаками пискульки можно в офисе Общества охраны птиц Узбекистана.

В рамках кампании Общество также планирует провести встречи с охотниками на водохранилище Талимарджан в Кашкадарьинской области. В январе в дни международной переписи водно-болотных птиц (IWC) на этой территории сотрудниками Общества были отмечены 20 пискулек. Существует большая вероятность того, что пискульки будут останавливаться на Талимарджан во время осенней миграции. В сентябре и октябре этого года им потребуется помощь представителей Общества охраны птиц, которые объяснят охотникам как отличить пискульку от схожего с ней белолобого гуся.

Supported by: BirdLife International RSPB Darwin Initiative

При использовании материалов с сайта ссылка на источник обязательна
Материалы сайта подготовил Олег Кашкаров
  Вебмастер Эрнест Хуршут: uznix@narod.ru | Рыбы Узбекистана
Изменено: 11.03.2018